We are still open for business, available for video conferences to keep you and the staff safe during the COVID-19 outbreak.
Young, Reverman & Mazzei Logo
We are still open for business, available for video conferences to keep you and the staff safe during the COVID-19 outbreak.
Free
Case
Review

Filing a Cincinnati Car Accident Claim If Your License Is Expired

For any Cincinnati car accident claim, you need to have proper evidence. You have to look into things that can pose a problem for your case. One of the most prominent things that can put you in a troubling situation is an expired license.

On the city of Cincinnati’s official website, there is a complete page of information about the traffic accidents and the stats as well. The information shows that since 2018, the accident rate has increased due to various reasons.

While an expired license can be a problem for a car accident claim, it's still possible to recover compensation. In this article, we look at the issue in detail.

What Is the Penalty for Driving With an Expired License?

If you are convicted for driving without a valid driver’s license and your license is expired, you will be charged with a minor misdemeanor. This comes with a penalty of up to $150 in fines.

If you are convicted for three or more driving without a valid driver’s license offenses in three years, you will be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor. This is punished by up to 6 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.

Will I Still Be Able to File a Claim With an Expired License?

According to the law, you can file a claim if your license is expired. But your case will be strong if you have solid evidence to show the other driver was responsible for the accident. A police report, photos of the scene, traffic cam video, and witness testimony are all important evidence in a car accident case.

You should get in touch with a Cincinnati car accident lawyer as soon as possible. An attorney can evaluate your case, investigate the accident, and take care of filing a claim against the other driver.

Can I File a Claim If I'm Partly at Fault?

Ohio uses comparative negligence, so you can still file a claim if you are partially responsible for an accident as long as your share of the blame is less than that of the other parties. In other words, you can recover compensation if your percentage of fault is not more than 50%. However, your compensation will be reduced by your percentage of fault.

Get Help With Your Cincinnati Car Accident Claim

If you or someone you know has recently faced a car accident, it is important to hire a car accident lawyer to help you recover compensation. Having an expired license can complicate your case, but it doesn't mean you aren't eligible to file a claim.

If the other party caused the accident, they deserve to be held liable. You should get professional help now by reaching out to us so that we can help you with your Cincinnati car accident claim.

Recent Posts

September 26, 2022

Workers Compensation in Ohio: Time Limits

Some of the people we meet with changes things that workers compensation it's like being on a vacation. You're getting […]

Read More
September 19, 2022

Ask An Auto Accident lawyer Cincinnati: Do I have a Case?

If you have recently been involved in a car accident, you're probably wondering if you have a case against the […]

Read More
September 12, 2022

Workers Comp in Ohio: Should you Get an Attorney?

If you get injured at work, it's fair to assume that your employer will take care of you. You know […]

Read More

Get Your Free Consultation

closehomephonebars linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram